Metallica Drops New Four-Song Live EP

Metallica Hits Number One On ‘top Hard Rock’ And ‘top Rock’ Albums Charts
Getty Images

Metallica has just dropped a new four-track live EP, titled The Amsterdam Sessions. The exclusive Amazon Music release recorded in The Netherlands, features two 72 Seasons tracks, “Lux AEterna” and “If Darkness Had A Son,” along with a pair of classics — “Master Of Puppets” and “Nothing Else Matters.”

The songs, which were performed at Mercury Studios were all filmed — with the live take of “If Darkness Had A Son” now streaming.

Drummer Lars Ulrich told us a while back that rehearsing for shows is different these days for Metallica: “At our age, it’s not really rehearse as in like, ‘how does ‘Enter Sandman’ go? It’s more just kind of, y’know, loosening up and kind of getting the battered bodies somewhat up to speed. It’s a little bit like sort of, y’know, kickstarting like a car that’s been sitting out in the snow for a while. Y’know, you need to let it run and idle for a few minutes before you drive it.”

Metallica performs tonight (June 16th) in Gothenburg, Sweden at Ullevi Stadium.

Categories: Pulse Music