Paul Simon Releasing ‘Seven Psalms’ Collection Next Month

Paul Simon Grammy Tribute Special Set For Next Week
Getty Images

Set for release on May 19th is Paul Simon‘s latest album, Seven Psalms. According to the announcement, the 33-minute, seven-movement song cycle is intended to be listened to as one continuous piece. The entirely acoustic-based new set, which was produced by Simon and Kyle Crusham, includes choral elements from the noted British vocal ensemble VOCES8, as well as an appearance by Simon’s wife, singer/songwriter Edie Brickell and jazz great Wynton Marsalis.

A trailer for the new album has been released including excerpts from an upcoming Simon documentary, titled In Restless Dreams.

A while back, Paul Simon explained that for him, songwriting is not about resting in one’s comfort zone: “Well, I think it’s my job not to actually be that concerned about being safe. I think you go for whatever it is that you think the truth is. In my case, I find the area I find most vulnerable in and therefore the area I’m most interested in is the heart, love. That’s the area I least wanna talk to you about, or tell you about, or reveal about myself. And so, that’s the area that I feel compelled to write about. But I really feel it’s, like, the job to go for the hit and if you kiss and they, they laugh at you or they criticize you, well, y’know, get a tougher skin.”

The tracklisting to Paul Simon’s Seven Psalms is:

“The Lord”
“Love Is Like A Braid”
“My Professional Opinion”
“Your Forgiveness”
“Trail Of Volcanoes”
“The Sacred Harp”

Categories: Pulse Music