Red Hot Chili Peppers Announce New Album, Drop First Video

Red Hot Chili Peppers will issue their first new music since 2016 with the April 1st release of their 12th studio set, Unlimited Love. reported the new album was produced by Rick Rubin and marks the return of former guitarist John Frusciante after over a decade away from the band. The Chili Peppers have dropped the first song and video from the set, titled “Black Summer.”

The band — Anthony Kiedis, Flea, Chad Smith, and John Frusciante — posted a message to fans on social media, which reads:

Our only goal is to get lost in the music. We spent thousands of hours, collectively and individually, honing our craft and showing up for one another, to make the best album we could. Our antennae attuned to the divine cosmos, we were just so damn grateful for the opportunity to be in a room together, and, once again, try to get better. Days, weeks and months spent listening to each other, composing, jamming freely, and arranging the fruit of those jams with great care and purpose. The sounds, rhythms, vibrations, words and melodies had us enrapt.

We yearn to shine a light in the world, to uplift, connect, and bring people together. Each of the songs on our new album UNLIMITED LOVE, is a facet of us, reflecting our view of the universe. This is our life’s mission. We work, focus, and prepare, so that when the biggest wave comes, we are ready to ride it. The ocean has gifted us a mighty wave and this record is the ride that is the sum of our lives. Thank you for listening, we hope you enjoy it.

Guitarist John Frusciante went on to post his own message, saying:

When we got together to start writing material, we began by playing old songs by people like Johnny “Guitar” Watson, The Kinks, The New York Dolls, Richard Barrett and others. Ever so gradually, we started bringing in new ideas, and turning jams into songs, and after a couple of months the new stuff was all we were playing. The feeling of effortless fun we had when we were playing songs by other people, stayed with us the whole time we were writing. For me, this record represents our love for, and faith in each other. ROCK OUT MOTHERF***ERS!

Frontman Anthony Kiedis told us a while back that every record Red Hot Chili Peppers have released is special to the band in its own way: “I feel like every record we make is a milestone. Every record we make sums up where we’ve been and where we’re at when we make it. They all strike me as being very poignant indicators of who and what we are at that point in time.”

The tracklist to Red Hot Chili Peppers’ ‘Unlimited Love’ is:

“Black Summer”
“Here Ever After”
“Aquatic Mouth Dance”
“Not the One”
“Poster Child”
“The Great Apes”
“It’s Only Natural”
“She’s a Lover”
“These Are the Ways”
“Whatchu Thinkin'”
“Bastards of Light”
“White Braids & Pillow Chair”
“One Way Traffic”
“Let ‘Em Cry”
“The Heavy Wing”

Categories: Pulse Music